Friends and daughters…

Boo is having her first sleepover tonight.  It’s been a crazy week of Boo counting down and asking a million questions.  I finally told her yesterday, or maybe the day before to stop with all the crazy.  All craziness aside, she was very helpful in getting the house straightened up and also helping me get the sleeping bags out.

My close friend from college, I will call her Val, short for Valkyrie, you don’t want to mess with her, she will cut you down verbally in a second.   Val is funny and smart and understands my weird sense of humor.  We have been in and out of touch since our classes together.  She got married and then we got connected when I got married and now over Facebook she has again become one of my best friends.  She has a daughter, ‘Kayla’, who is about a year younger than Boo.  We got them together last fall and they became fast friends.  It was pretty crazy to watch.  Over Fall break we met up and took the girls to Build A Bear.  Nothing like driving along and suddenly hearing them singing an obscure song from Spongebob Squarepants.

As I hear, Kayla and Boo in the other room giggling during the Disney movie and choosing colors for the friendship bracelets they are making, I can’t help but think of us in college.  Ok, so we were so not the girls that planned out our weddings or talked about our future offspring playing, dating or anything else.  We studied, we watched hockey and football and laughed a lot.

We still have a lot in common, she is a teacher and I homeschool and we are both writers.  She jumped into National Novel Writing Month last year, and this year, doing a great job with both projects.  If only we could finish, edit and rewrite…  Oh, I know, it will happen, I am just hoping it’s before we are old and gray.

Ok, time to go make popcorn for the sleepover.

Leave a Reply

