Note to self…

Every year I tell myself that I am going to be better about keeping track of things.  So, every year I buy myself a cute spiral engagement calendar.

And every year, I use it for about three weeks and then it just sits on my desk.  The  last two years I have taken plain composition books to keep track of stuff I need to do.  I usually decorate the front.  2010 had a Mickey Mouse theme and 2011 had a butterfly theme.  They worked pretty well, on the right hand page I would make my To do list and on the left hand side I would make notes and mark times for tasks and appointments.  The composition notebooks have worked really well except I was hauling them all over the place and I still had to consult a calendar and other things to add my information.
.
.
.
.
.

                    Kim's Notebook 2011
.
.
.
.
.
Last May, I got an iPad as a gift from my mother in law.  She knew that she was going to need my help with some things.  I said no, that’s ok she didn’t need to buy me anything for me to help and she said she really wanted to do this for me.  I finally said ok, and now I have an iPad, which I adore.
.
This past New Year’s Day I was looking to make some notes and realized I didn’t have a calendar or a composition notebook.  I started thinking about what I wanted to use this year and I ended up with the conclusion that it would be easier if I kept everything in one place, my iPad.  I looked at different apps for the iPad that would make it easier for me to keep
 track of the everyday things that need to be done.
.

I tried Cozi last year and loved how it looked.  The home page has a family picture in the upper left, a calendar at the top and the schedule for the week .  I used Cozi for about a month and then I couldn’t stand it anymore.  At the top in the middle where the calendar would be Cozi kept posting their own little paragraphs at the top of the page.  The upper right was already dedicated to actual ads that help fund the upkeep of Cozi and I understand that.  The Cozi paragraphs in the middle of my Family page drove me nuts.   It would have been nice if there was a way to read the blurb and then hit an X to delete it or minimize it.  The way it was you saw the same blurb for two or three weeks.  Often the blurb didn’t even pertain to anything I was doing.  I got tired of it and deleted it.  When I got my iPad and discovered the app for Cozi, I tried it again.  I couldn’t get back into it because of the blurb and deleted my account again..

I decided to give OneNote a try.  There are apps for both my iPad and iPhone plus the program on my laptop.  We already had OneNote on my laptop so it wasn’t an extra expense to give it a shot.  I spent a day looking at OneNote and I really like it.  I added new notebooks, changed tabs, redid all of the colors and realized that I really like it.  I can add pictures and any
thing else to a page so I think it will be easy and fun to use.  I also like the fact that I can save some paper.  
Leave a Reply

