Almost normal…

Four weeks after Christmas and I am just now feeling like life is back to normal.

Sully is working from home, Boo and I started school again last week.  The first week back to school is always a bit crazy.  I had a bit of prepping to do for Boo’s lessons, we are off to a good start though.

I need to get my self back on some sort of schedule since October I have been just meandering along through the day.  School is the only constant and while that is good, it’s been a struggle to get other stuff done.  I am really hoping that this is the week that I get myself back into the swing of things.

I have a few projects in the works, some that I have already started and others that are next in line.  I need to get back on my house schedule before I tackle anything else.  I can go days and weeks with the house totally picked up and ready for visitors.  Projects are my housekeeping kryptonite though.  I start a project and instantly the house goes to hell.  The problem is that I enjoy the projects more than the housekeeping.  When you have a project going you see the end in sight.  There is a sense of accomplishment when you finish the project.  Everyday housekeeping has no end, it’s washing the same dishes as yesterday, sweeping the same floors, dusting the same table, folding the same clothes.  It’s the never ending part that is so hard, which sounds a little ridiculous.  Some days it just seems to be futile, like when we were kids and our moms told us to make our beds.  All of us thought at one point, why should I make my bed?  I am just going to mess it up when I go to bed at night.  I can admit there are days that I think why even try?  It’s just going to get messed up again.  One time Faith said it was like the movie “Groundhog Day’ and she’s right, there is something funny and horrifying all at the same time in that.

I am going to concentrate this week on getting back to my schedule.  The projects can be worked in next week or the week after.  Maybe I can do the every day stuff plus accomplish a little project work each day.  I might want to think about writing too…hmmm

Leave a Reply

