The Price of Beauty…

I have spent the last day and a half looking at the Beautypedia website.  In my quest to take better care of myself I have decided to at least attempt to maybe wear makeup every once and a while.   I realized that I hadn’t bought mascara in years.  I have had new mascara, mind you, Faith gave me some Mary Kay mascara last year and my sister gave me a gift set the year before that had mascara.  The thing is though that in recent years there have been a lot of changes in regards to mascara.  There is plumping mascara, lengthening mascara, thickening mascara, waterproof mascara, non-clumping mascara, curling mascara and probably ten others that I didn’t mention.  It’s a little much just for gunk to put on your eyelashes.  I am not that picky, I want something that will stay on my eyelashes, mascara that separates my lashes and that I don’t have to use lighter fluid to get it off at night.  Oh, I also have no need for huge, fake looking Spider Lady of the Black Night eyelashes either.

In the reviews on Beautypedia, I noticed that they were keeping track of which companies test their products on animals.  I am actually surprised that so many companies are still doing this.  Being the owner of two rabbits, I can’t reconcile hurting animals for the off chance someone might look a little better.  My bunnies are sweet and loving, I would never want anything to happen to them.  (Why yes, I did say bunnies.  They are super adorable.  Check out the pictures!)

DSCF1163 - Copy

My sweet bunnies, Cuba (left) and Dizzy (above).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was happy to learn that Mary Kay and Revlon, the two cosmetic brands I have used the most in the recent past, do not test on animals.  I was not happy to see that Neutrogena. Cover Girl, and a host of others still do animal testing.  I am really disappointed with Neutrogena, which I have used  since high school but no more.  I am still on the hunt for a few things I need.  I will probably stick with Mary Kay or Revlon, I have liked them before and like them even more now that I know they aren’t hurting my bunny friends.

I am not a crazy animal activist.  PETA annoys me with their over the top reactions to things but I do love and care about animals and how they are treated.  I donate money to animal rescues and charities.  I do my best to help all animals and so, I will avoid buying products from companies that aren’t animal friendly.  It’s not worth hurting another living creature for any reason and especially not for fake beauty.

2 thoughts on “The Price of Beauty…

  1. totally tongue-in-cheek here…..

    Think how fabulous Dizzy would look with glamour eyelashes! 🙂

    You know I’m against animal testing….just the image of Dizzy with fluttery eyelashes struck me as funny.

Leave a Reply

