Don’t call me Buttercup…

There’s a saying that has been stuck in my head and in my vocabulary all week, “suck it up, Buttercup.”

It’s been a trying week for both Sully and me.  In a usual week, Sully works from home three days a week, and I love it. I get to see my big googlybear whenever I want during the day plus the added bonus of saving money on gas and lunches.  This week, however, the IT guys were installing new monitors and everyone had to be there all week.  Mind you installing a monitor is about as complicated as making toast.  Plug in, hit the power button.  Hey look, toast.  The days have been long, the commute is about an hour one way, so Sully’s normal 8 to 5 day  becomes a 7:00am to 6:00pm day.  

I like love having Sully at home.  Some days I don’t get much done because I am chatting with him instead of cleaning the house but some things can just wait.  I don’t think I will ever look back on my life and regret not spending more time cleaning the house.  I already felt a bit under the weather and without Sully here, well, I was feeling even worse.

So, you might think that the “suck it up, Buttercup” would be meant for us.  Oddly enough, no, it’s not.  Sully and I have been ‘sucking it up’ as it were for the last ten years.  (Okay, ladies, enough with the guttery thoughts…)  We’ve been through a lot in the last ten years and yeah, we have complained and moped and cried (mostly me).  We have also gotten up every morning, gone to work, cleaned the house, fed the critters and everything else that needed to be done.  We scrimped, saved and sacrificed to pay for the things that needed to be done and in some cases stuff we just wanted to do.  

It’s very clear though that we are a rare breed.  In this last week, I have seen several instances of people trampling others because they just ‘don’t wanna’.  It amazes me how someone can take advantage of a person’s giving nature because you don’t want to be inconvenienced.  Why do we have to play by the rules but you get to make up your own? We try to help others when we can and are glad to do it.  It’s hard to be on the outside looking in and seeing what’s going on.  

In the instance that I am seeing, this person, I will call MeMe is so convinced that ‘they’ can’t do it that ‘they’ aren’t even trying anymore.  Nobody minds helping but the not trying is ultimately not helping MeMe in the long run.

This week has been full of conversations with other people and their MeMes.  The message is the same, I don’t mind helping but at what point are they going to help themselves?  We talk about ‘kids these days’, they have no respect, they expect everything to be handed to them, it goes on and on.  It’s hard to complain about the kids when we have adult Buttercups leading the way.  Oy…

Everyone say it with me… Suck it up, Buttercup.

In some situations, including mine there is just no way to address it without it becoming a huge deal.  So, I will just suck it up and be the nice person that I am…just don’t call me Buttercup!

Buttercup (I went looking for a pic of the flower and saw this first. It seemed more appropriate.)

Buttercup in a member of the PowerPuff girls with her sisters Blossom and Bubbles. Buttercup is the spice part of sugar and spice and everything nice.   She is the tough one of the group, her emotions can cause problems causing her to be reckless and stubborn. Her secret power is the ability to roll her tongue which Blossom and Bubbles are unable to do.  I am pretty sure that Buttercup would have no problem telling someone to suck it up when they needed to hear it.  So, maybe being called Buttercup wouldn’t be so bad.

Leave a Reply

