Multitasking…

Multitasking is a way of life when you are a mom, help with math homework while folding laundry, wash off kitchen counters while dinner is heating up on the stove, write a blog post while testing spelling words and those are just a few examples.   I do this all day long with a few quiet moments thrown in between periods of perpetual motion.

I have been multitasking since I was a kid watching TV while I did my homework.  As I got older it just got busier, TV, homework, talking on the phone.  By the time I was in college, I was working full time and taking a full schedule of classes, I think chaos was the best way to describe life then.  I left before the sun came up and came home after it set, it was a little crazy.  I had moments of calm, like right before a big exam when I had no choice but spend three or four hours in the library or at the kitchen table pouring over my notes and textbooks.

The thing I am noticing now is that I wonder with all of the multitasking if I have lost the ability to focus on one thing at a time.  The last few days I have been concentrating on finishing one thing at a time and it’s driving me crazy.  I don’t know if it’s the lack of sleep or the out of control allergies but I get all twitchy and fidgety.  My attention span sometimes feels like it’s about ten seconds long, and that is not normal for me.  The chances of me getting a half hour much less three or four uninterrupted hours are about equal to me winning the lottery.  Still you would think I could hold on to a fifteen to twenty minute span of time and get some serious ass kicking work done.  Not so much, it seems.  My brain wanders to the million other things that I need to be doing instead of the task at hand.  

I know I can’t stop multitasking but I need to work on the focusing too.

Note to self… Schedule 15 minutes of uninterrupted focus time every day.

Leave a Reply

