Seeing is believing…

Earlier today, I came across an interesting article on the ‘So You Want to be an Entrepreneur’ blogsite.  How to create a motivational Dream Wall, is a blog post about ideas to help with daily motivation.   A dream wall is a good way to help people that are visually oriented keep working on goals and moving towards the future.

You can include anything you want in your dream wall but it is often made up of images that are part of your short term or long term goals.  Images can include locations like houses and places, things like books and decorations or experiences.  You can also add favorite quotes, sayings, poetry as well as, pictures of family, people that inspire you or someone you would like to know.  “The images are designed to really make the viewer excited and remind them of the “why” in their day. Why do you get out of bed every day? well this “wall” should remind you why!” (from the article)

Here is a quick version of my Dream wall.  I enjoyed putting it together, I can see myself spending a lot of time asking myself what I want to display, searching for images and arranging them the way that I want.  The process of putting it together is helpful because it helps you focus on what you really want.  It employs different learning styles in it’s approach in that you might write down your goals before starting, then you add visual cues and then in the arrangement of those images and words the idea is reinforced and becomes more concrete. 

The article reminds us that seeing is believing, I can use the Dream Wall to focus on where I want to go.  I am hoping it will make it easier to make changes today rather than put them off until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

