Bare basics…

I have always been a sort of a home remedy type of girl.  I like making my own version of things whether it’s crafts or recipes.  So, when I came across a recipe for homemade laundry soap, I was definitely interested.  Google was quite useful and I found several websites that used the same recipe.

Last weekend, I took a trip to Walmart and bought the following items…

  • Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda (55oz box) – $3.24
  • 20 Mule Team Borax (76oz box) – $3.99
  • Fels-Naptha (5.5oz bar) – $0.97
  • Grater – $2.50

There are two versions of the laundry detergent, powder and liquid.  The basic recipe for the powder calls for you to grate the Fels-Naptha soap, then add 1 cup of Washing Soda and 1 cup of Borax.  Mix well, it’s makes about 4 cups give or take a little due to the varying volume of the grated soap.   Keep in an air tight container, one tablespoon per load, which translates to about 60 loads of laundry.

I broke down the cost of the batch to $2.00, divide that by 60 loads and it comes to about $0.03 per load.   My previous detergent costs $4.97 for 32 loads, that’s $0.15 per load.  It doesn’t seem like a lot but when you multiply it out to a year.  If I do a minimum of six loads of laundry a week that is 312 loads a year.  At $0.15 a load it comes to over $45 a year and with the homemade detergent it will cost less than $10 a year.  I will have to buy more bars of the Fels-naptha soap but the washing soda and Borax will last me more than a year.  (I included the additional bars of soap into my cost per batch.  I didn’t include the price of the grater because I just added it to my craft supplies anyway.)

I have washed about ten loads of laundry, clothes, towels and sheets.  It works great better than my previous detergent, it smells wonderful and it’s easy to use.  I’ve been using liquid detergents and they get all over the place, so the switch to the powder is nice.

Overall, here are the benefits of mixing my own detergent; it saves money, it works better, it’s easy to use and I know what’s in it.  I am really excited about this, which I realize is really dorky but this is not a surprise to anyone really.  I will have to see what else I can mix up myself.

Leave a Reply

