Mixing it up…

Last month, I posted about how I had made my own laundry soap using a mixture of Borax, Washing Soda and a bar of laundry soap.  It’s been over a month and it’s working great, my clothes are cleaner and they smell great.  

So, in my continuing quest to ‘do it myself’ I have found the instructions on how to make my own scrubbing cleanser.  It was originally posted on the Crunchy Betty Blog.  She had instructions for a scrub that used grapefruit.  

Click here for the link to Crunchy Betty’s Grapefruit Scouring Scrub Recipe.  I used the same recipe but I didn’t have grapefruit so I used oranges.   I commandeered Sully’s coffee grinder to powder the orange peels.  

Orange Scouring Scrub Recipe

  • 3 Tbsp dried, powdered orange peels
  • 3 Tbsp borax
  • 5 Tbsp baking soda

Combine everything  in a closed container and shake well to combine it all.  Crunchy Betty recommends something with holes like an old grated parmesan container or spice shaker.   Crunchy Betty also has the reminder to be sure to rinse the scrub off well with a clean, wet sponge.

I tested it on my bathtub, it did a really good job and the oranges smelled great.  

Leave a Reply

