Porch decor…

Nothing like a little procrastination or it is good things come to those that wait…

Last Spring, I bought this wall art piece.  It was on sale, I had a coupon and I love butterflies.  It was missing a butterfly in the middle and I figured I would fill the space with something.  I just wasn’t sure what.  I hung it on our covered front porch and I like how the sunlight reflects off of the copper.

It’s been a year and I still haven’t filled the space.  Every time Lily comes over she says, “still nothing?”  And I usually say, “Ugh, I know, I just haven’t seen anything that seems like the thing to add.”   I’ve thought about tracing the shape of the butterflies and making a new one out of bright colored paper, or getting one of those butterflies that they use in floral arrangements.

Last week, though we went to Cracker Barrel for lunch with Sully’s mom.  She’s really trying to keep herself moving along, which I think is commendable and a healthy way to go.  After lunch we went into the ‘Old Country Store’ to look around.  I found a really pretty butterfly wind chime and a pretty butterfly plant decoration.

The wind chime looks perfect on the front porch and I had planned on adding the butterfly planter decoration to the butterfly decorations in the master bathroom. It’s our spring time theme, I only have a few more weeks to enjoy it.

This morning I had the butterfly in my hand and was looking around to see where to put it.   We’ve had the butterfly theme in the master bathroom for several years, last year was the first year that we attempted changing the bathroom decor to go with the seasons.  As I looked at the master bath, I was suddenly struck with a fantastic idea.   The idea hit me so suddenly I ran out to the front porch.  I must have startled Sully because he showed up soon after.

The butterfly from the Cracker Barrel hooked right on to the wire that was left at the empty space.  I did a little fine tuning but it really looked good from the beginning, with minimal help from me.

While I was out on the porch I hung up these pieces that I got, on sale, with a coupon and then left leaning by the front door for two months.  They are hanging on the opposite wall of the front porch.  My mother was part Native American, she would have liked these although Kokopelli was her favorite.  I like the designs, Butterfly, Eagle and Thunderbird, and whose house doesn’t need some extra happiness, freedom and everlasting life?

          

Leave a Reply

