School daze…

I posted the following on Facebook the other day…

“I just spent the last hour working on the school calendar for next year. 5th grade? When did that happen? :)”

I can’t believe Boo is going into the 5th grade next year.  Apparently, I am not the only one.  Lily commented, ” I demand a recount!” and Faith asked, “Yeah, how’d THAT happen?”  Both comments made me laugh and reminded me that every mom goes through that moment when they realize so much time has gone by.  

Boo is ten years old now, eleven in October, that means we’re more than halfway to her being an adult.  Ugh, I don’t even want to think about it.

I am so grateful for homeschooling and that it allows me that extra time with her.  It’s been challenging this year, given all of the family issues.  One of the nice things about homeschooling is the flexibility.  I had a couple of people that suggested that if Boo had been in school we wouldn’t have to catch up over the summer.  They are right, I did point out though that Boo got time with her grandpa that she wouldn’t have gotten if she were in school.  Now that he is gone she really cherishes those last few weeks with him.  When it’s all said and done, Boo will remember her special time with Papa more than she will remember that school stretched a few weeks into the summer.

Our school year is 32 weeks long, 16 weeks before Christmas, and 16 weeks after New Year’s.  The 16 weeks is divided into two 8 week sessions, with a week or so off in between sessions.  This system has worked great for us and I have been able to tweak all of our curriculum to fit.  Some subjects have five lessons a week and others have only four per week.  The handwriting curriculum has 64 lessons, that works out to 4 lessons per week for 16 weeks.  It works perfectly, we use one book in the Fall and the next book in the Spring.  She gets Friday off from handwriting which she thinks is great.

It’s all about planning which I do constantly.  I usually start planning for the next school year in March or April.  It’s a lot of work, researching curriculum and classroom ideas for the next year.

It’s completely worth it though.  At least, I know that Boo is learning and we don’t have to worry about her dealing with some of the awful things that we hear about on the news.

June+1My June +1 for today is sit ups.  I am adding sit ups to my daily exercise routine, arms exercises are doing well on Tuesdays/Thursdays/Saturdays.
Leave a Reply

