Good ol’ summertime…

One of the fun parts of the seasons changing is getting to switch out some of the decorations in the house.  In March, I mentioned changing the decor in the master bathroom with the seasons.  This is our first year doing a complete change out and I have to say that I like it.  It was fun when I got out the Butterfly set, we’d had that set for years and only put it away for Christmas.  Even then it was just for the month December, and maybe a few days before or after.  Last spring, we bought a new bathroom set.  It has a beach theme and that’s when I got the idea to do seasonal decor.  I wasn’t quite ready to give up my butterflies and it’s perfect for spring.

Summer is here.  Yeah, I know the Summer Solstice isn’t officially here until June 20th.  Trust me, summer is here, it’s Arizona.  It’s been consistently over 100 degrees here for a few weeks.  I had planned on getting the Summer bathroom set out and set up around June 1st but it just didn’t happen.  So, better late than never, right?

We spent quite a while looking at different sets for the master bathroom.  I really wanted something that would make summer more fun.  It’s gets really hot here, usually we have several weeks of temperatures over 110 degrees.  If I am going to be stuck inside all day I want something fun to look at.  We found a lot of sets but a lot of them were very cartoony.  I was grateful that Sully was so involved, he helped me narrow down our vision from just basic ocean and beach to more of a Hawaiian beach theme.  When I came across this set we both knew it was the one we wanted.  We also bought the cute surfboard rug and the decorative towels.  I did my usual with the towels though, I bought coordinating colors, in the case a light cinnamon brown and a teal.  I hang the plain towels and then hang one decorative towel over the middle.  The decorative one doesn’t really get used and I can replace the colored towels when needed.

This next part is my favorite addition, I found these prints on art.com.  Not only are they perfect and awesome, they were on sale and I was able to use a coupon for free shipping.  I found some great frames at Michael’s, again on sale… yay!  

   

This isn’t the greatest picture but it get’s the basic idea across.

We added other touches like bamboo placemats, that I cut to fit the cover of the toilet tank and the towel shelf.  I had some bright red bamboo placemats that I cut and used to break up the sand color.   You can see our Lilo and Stitch snowglobe there too.

Here are the lightswitch and outlet covers I decorated last year.  I used pictures that I printed off of my printer and some Modge Podge.  There’s a great tutorial here – How to Make a Picture Light Switch Cover


   

I really like the beach theme.  My parents grew up in Southern California and loved the beach.  They moved here about year before I was born and I used to wonder what it would have been like to grow up in California.  Now, I know I was here for a reason, and I found Sully here.  Of course, I just recently learned that Sully’s grandparents were headed for California when they moved from New York when Gramma was a little girl.  They stopped in Arizona and decided to stay, she found Papa here so Arizona isn’t such a bad place to grow up.

June+1My June +1 for today is working on my writing.  I am working on Chapter 1 of my work in progress.

 

Leave a Reply

