A little luck…

…can go a long way.

Sunday night I gave Faith a big pep talk peppered with many pictures of Johnny Depp.  Every time she mentioned being nervous about the surgery I would send a picture of Johnny Depp.  It made her laugh.  I figured by the time she went to the hospital that every time she heard someone say surgery she would think ‘hey!  Johnny Depp.’

She had surgery this morning on her back and last night she was seriously nervous, naturally.  Surgery went well and she is well on her way to a  full recovery.

Here’s the deal, I sent a lot of luck to Faith, for her to be calm, not scared and of course for the surgery to go well.  Judging on the beginning of my day, it seems that I sent all of my luck to her.

I started out the day knowing that I had a bunch to do right off.  The bunnies needed hay which meant that I had to gather together the plastic containers that I use for storing the hay.  I also had to clean out my van so that the containers could be put in the back.   I also needed to set up the portable A/C unit in the garage for the dogs in the afternoon.  None of these jobs are complicated, tedious and annoying, if not a bit time consuming.

So, where’s the hay, Mom?

I got the hay containers gathered and the van cleaned out.  The plan was to go get the hay after Boo’s swim lesson.  I wasn’t thrilled about being outside at noon packing a bale of hay into plastic containers but you do what needs to be done, right?  After swim class we went down to the feed store, no Timothy hay.  Hopefully, they will have it this weekend, otherwise not until the following weekend.  Seriously not happy.

There’s a feed store about 15 miles away but I was really not in the mood to drive that far in 114 degree heat.  Maybe I’ll go Wednesday morning to pick it up or see if I can’t wait for the weekend.  In the meantime, I can pick up bags of hay at Petsmart.

It’s great that I have that option but, of course, that means I have to go out again today to get hay.  It’s annoying it messes up my day, if I have I errands to run I like getting them over and done with.  That way afterwards I can go home and get work done around the house.  There’s always some project that I am working on.

So, the hay situation was resolved and now it was time to deal with the portable A/C unit in the garage.  During the winter, I store the rolling unit covered in the box it came in.  It’s more of a sleeve really, no bottom, no top but it protects it during storage.  I made a top for the box and use the space over it for storing wicker baskets and other lightweight items during cooler temperatures. 

 So, of course, all of that needed to be moved.  It doesn’t really matter that I don’t have a spot for any of it.  My garage is still a mess from Christmas, another source of frustration.  The Christmas decorations are all put away, for the most part, I did come across a stray box of stuff, I am hoping I can just stack it with the other Christmas boxes without having to shift too much.

Anyway, back to the A/C unit, I moved everything around, uncovered the unit hooked up the vent hose and then spent about two hours looking for the heavy duty extension cord that we bought specifically for the A/C unit.   I looked in all of the places that I normally would keep an extension cord and then just kept looking.  I finally gave up, I found another extension cord and was pleased that it didn’t trip the breaker for the garage.

***Update***  I actually found the heavy duty extension cord in the same area that I keep the rabbit hay.  No idea why it was there but I never would have found it if we hadn’t been out of hay.  Weird.

June+1My June +1 today was making a to do list for this week that’s all about taking better care of me.

 

Leave a Reply

