Trying to keep up…

On any given day there are fifty two things that need to be done around my house.  There’s the basic maintenance type of stuff like washing dishes, sweeping and straightening.  The not-everyday jobs like cleaning the ceiling fans and baseboards, that I am supposed to do monthly that I tend to really only do when I notice how really awful they look.  I also have projects that need to be done like finish organizing the patterns, sort the book of warranties, put hooks up to hang a plant, spray Scotchgard on the area rugs and the list goes on.  One step further and you have craft projects like sewing and scrapbooking or the construction projects like bookshelves and aquarium stands.  And don’t even talk to me about the garage and backyard.  It’s no wonder that when I look at what needs to be done I get a little dizzy.

It’s easy to get lost and overwhelmed, some days it’s easier to walk away than to figure out where to start.  Most days I know that I need to start off with the basic straightening stuff.  Other days it’s more difficult because I know that if I had that shelf built the stuff I am straightening could go up there or if that plant was hung on a hook I would have that space.  On those days, I try to concentrate on what I am working on.

A few weeks ago I was working on my desk, the Bermuda Triangle of my house.  If something can’t be found you might as well start looking on my desk because 9 times out of 10 that’s where someone left it.  There was a lot of things that didn’t belong on my desk or even in the room.  Early in the cleaning of said desk I started out of the room with a few things and immediately stopped.  From where I was standing I could see the laundry room, the kitchen, Boo’s room and all of the things in between that needed to be done.  Out loud, I said, “Nope,” and sat the stack of stuff down on the bookshelf.  If I went any farther I would stop and do a little in the kitchen or mess with things in the laundry room.  The desk wouldn’t get finished and I probably wouldn’t make any real dent in the kitchen or laundry room.  I stuck with that and got my desk really and truly organized.  After I was done with the desk then I went out and took all of the extraneous items where they needed to go.  My desk still looks pretty good, even with the Garfield sized cat that takes up half my space.

Love those beautiful golden eyes!

Garfield sized…

               


 

.

.

.

.

.

At least now I have a plan of attack, straighten the house each day.  When I am ready to deal with a bigger area, clean the crap out of that one area and move on.  Of course, that’s how the ‘multipurpose room’ got in the shambles that it’s in now.  There are so many things that got left in there because we don’t know where to put them.  There were a few things from the bedroom that really didn’t have a place and set them in a small plastic container.  I figure if I keep doing that eventually we will have a larger plastic container that keeps getting floating from room to room looking for refuge.  Sully will tell me to throw it until I show him something of his in the container.  He hasn’t found a place for it yet but he doesn’t want me to throw it away either.  So, the container continues to float.

I have my plan of attack and the knowledge that some items won’t have a place right now.  Maybe I can pick one thing out of the container each day and find it’s place…hmmm, I might be on to something there.

June+1
My June +1 for today was adding more reps to my arm exercises.  I am up to two sets of 12 with 5 pound weights.  I started slow and easy so that I can build on it and keep going.
Leave a Reply

