Sleep can wait…

I spent most of the day feeling sleepy and trying to stay awake and when it was time to lie down and sleep, I couldn’t.

Not that I was that surprised, before bedtime I always check all of the critters to make sure everyone is settled in, cage doors secure, food and water for the night. When I checked on Boo’s hamsters one of them looked a little shaky.  I coaxed her out of the corner and gave her some water and food since both her water and food are on upper levels of her hamster condo.  Dwarf hamsters don’t have a very long life span, usually a year and half to two years.  We have two hamsters that were both purchased in December of 2010 so so it’s been about eighteen months since we adopted them.

Boo’s first hamster only lived one year after we adopted her, she was a Christmas present.  We picked her up at Petsmart the day after Christmas and she was so friendly.  She literally danced in front of Boo until Sully found someone to get her out of the display.  Gigi was an awesome little hamster, loved to run around in her little ball and remained friendly until the end.   We lost her a year later on Christmas night.  One of the worst things I’ve had to do as a parent was telling Boo that Gigi was gone.  

The next day we went out and bought two hamsters, Tink and Rose.  Sully and I have been watching the calendar, very thankful that we made it through Christmas with both of them.  Then later, happy that we had made it through Spring and the beginning of summer.  It’s Rose that I am worried about now, I am pretty sure that our time is running short.  I let Boo know and she said that she had noticed the same things.  I checked Rose one last time and she is resting comfortably.  I am not sure what I will find in the morning but I’ve done what I can for now.  

It’s the circle of life and we all know logically how things go but it’s not always easy to deal with them in our own lives.

Day 9

 1.  Water –  3 – 24 oz. tumblers

2.  Shimmy –  Episode 8 (hip piston, hip pop, 1 2 3 hop and snake arms)

3.  Writing  –  MC backstory

4.  Exercises – Stretching

5.  Project –  Garage (2 x 15 minutes)  

Leave a Reply

