Environment of fear…

Tuesdays are one of the few days that Sully has to go in to the office for work.  Right before 10:00 I got a text from Sully letting me know that he was going in to a last minute team meeting.  He didn’t think it was a going to be a good meeting.  There have been rumors for a couple of weeks about layoffs.   Of course, we’ve dealt with this for more than ten years, every year between September and December there are talks of layoffs.  It’s three months of worry and I am guessing a lot of sleepless nights.  I don’t know if their plan is to create this climate of fear but regardless that is the result.

Sully has been stressed, super stressed.  I, on the other hand, haven’t been worried.  I mean, I worry about Sully and his stress level but I seem to have a psychic sense for some of this stuff.  Honestly, his job security has not popped up on my radar, at all.  I keep telling Sully to be calm and that we will figure it out no matter what happens but it’s little comfort.  I understand his concern but I hate to see him worry about stuff that it out of our control.

The meeting was one of those good news/bad news situations.  The bad news was that a lot of people were getting laid off and the good news, Sully wasn’t one of them.  Even so, it was an upsetting day for him.  He said there was a huge stack of empty boxes in the center of the building for people to pack.  I can’t imagine how tragic and sad that must have been.

I was so glad to see Sully when he got home and gave him a huge hug.  I am over all of the stress, I just want Sully to be calm and worry free.

Leave a Reply

