Rack ’em up…

I’ve got my costumes hung and bagged but I don’t have any place to put them.  I’ve looked at inexpensive garment racks but I’d rather not spend a lot of money on anything until I know what I really need and where I am going to put the rack.  I looked around online and read several different suggestions for garment racks.  There was the usual plans for building out of wood, metal pipe, PVC pipe as well as a temporary solution using ladders.

I chose the temporary solution.  Here’s a picture of a cozy and stylish version.

The nice clean wooden ladders look pretty.  The clothes rod appears to be a metal pipe.  A wooden closet rod could also be used.

Mine is much less cozy and stylish.  I am using two utility type ladders that look more like this one.  Even better, I have one green ladder and one orange ladder which adds to the lack of cozy.  I am also using a plain 2″x 2″ that is 8 feet long.  

I would add a picture of my rack (I can hear Sully snickering, a picture of the garment rack.  Sheesh!).  Anyway, no picture, my garage is a mess and I don’t want photographic proof.

I set up the ladders and they take up a fair amount of room but that’s not an issue  at this point.  I used zip ties to secure the 2×2 board to the tops of the ladders.  the hangers hung well on the square rod, they don’t slide but I don’t need that right now.  I’ve hung our costumes from this year, our vampire year, most of Boo’s dance recital costumes and the costumes I decorated with.  There might be a few more in the storage box that can be hung but that will have to wait until tomorrow.

Today, I am thankful for the internet.  I enjoy researching projects and getting fifty different ideas on how to do it.  It’s fun to look at everything and then come up with my own version.  I am also thankful that today was a pretty stress free day.  I needed one of those.  🙂

Leave a Reply

