Catching up…

We got back from Anaheim at 4:30 this morning.  We unpacked the car, got settled as quickly as possible and went to bed.  I slept until about 8:30 but then I had to get up to let the dogs out.  I felt pretty okay until noon when I fell asleep during a Mythbusters episode.  Boo and Sully napped at the same time and we woke up around 3:00.  We didn’t do much the whole day but rest and watch Mythbusters.

I figured today would be the day that I posted the pics of the garment bags that I made.  I brought my laptop over to the bed so I could relax and recline while I type.

IMG_1280

.

.

This is the plastic sheeting that I used from Home Depot.  The roll is ten feet by twenty feet and it cost less than $3.

.

.

IMG_1265 - Copy

.

I decided to cut the pieces 24 inches wide and ten feet long.  I was able to cut the plastic still folded.  I had a cutting station set up with a cutting mat, ruler and utility knife.

.

.

IMG_1268

Then I folded the plastic over so that it was 24″ wide and 5 feet long with the fold along the top.  I used binder clips to hold the edges together, pins would leave holes in the plastic.  I used a simple straight stitch and zipped it through the sewing machine. 

.

.

IMG_1267

.

On the very first one I sewed the thread got caught and pulled the plastic off.

I didn’t want to mess with sewing that entire side again, so I repaired it with clear packing tape. 

.

.

IMG_1269

.

Packing tape to the rescue.  Nothing complicated here, I laid the tape so that half of it stuck to the plastic and then folded the tape to adhere to the other side.  The basic fold and stick.

It worked so well that I decided to reinforce the other side as well.

.

.

IMG_1276

.

Next I worked on the opening for the hanger.

I cut a piece of packing tape about 10 inches long and placed it across the top fold.  Once again adhering only half of it to the plastic.

Then I folded and smoothed it on to the other side of the plastic.

.

.

IMG_1271

.

.

.

.

.

.

IMG_1275

I turned the entire bag inside out, which really ends up being right side out at this point.

I cut another 10 inch piece of packing tape and placed it over the top fold.  It goes over the other piece of tape but on the other side of the plastic.

.

.

.

.

IMG_1278

.

I folded the bag in half at the top fold and cut out a triangle shape.  It’s an easy cut since the plastic is reinforced by the packing tape.

.

.

IMG_1279

Here is what the opening looks like for the hanger.

.

.

.

.

.

The finished bags!

IMG_1273

          IMG_1274

*** I probably could have edited this more but I am too tired to care.  🙂

Leave a Reply

