Go Figure…

When I first injured my foot I did some online research, that is how I discovered that it was a high ankle sprain.  I also got some information on treatment and recovery.  Pretty much everything I read claimed that it would take at least six weeks for it to heal.  I’ve sprained my ankle before and it’s taken only about 10 to 14 days to heal.  There might be some residual effects as my ankle strengthened but six weeks just seemed ridiculous.

Today was the first day that I didn’t wear my ankle brace all day and I did pretty well.  We walked all over Costco and then later Sam’s Club because we forgot to look for the gingerbread house at Costco.  Later, I put the brace on briefly while moving Christmas boxes out to Sully’s mom’s garage.  I was concerned about negotiating that step down into the garage while pulling a two wheel dollie.   I took it off afterward though and had no significant issues.  Once getting into the car I bent my ankle a bit and felt a twinge.

I was glad I was that I was finally feeling like my ankle was healing.  The ankle brace wasn’t an issue except when I was wearing shoes.  I mostly wear Crocs around the house and I didn’t have a lot of problems with the brace interfering with them.  My running shoes though were another matter, the shoes were not comfortable at all with the brace on.  I ended up wearing my hiking boots everywhere, although I think that turned out to be a really good idea.  The boots gave me extra support and didn’t interfere with the brace at all.  I’ll probably still keep the brace handy in case I am doing anything that might cause a relapse.

Of course, looking at the calendar I find that the six week prognosis is spot on and not ridiculous in the least.  Go figure…

running shoes

Leave a Reply

