Here you go…

I used a drill and drill bit to drill pilot holes before I used drilled the screws into the 2×2’s.  Drilling a pilot hole will help prevent cracking when the screw is drilled in.

IMG_1384 - Copy

 I put together the uprights first sandwiching the 24 inch 2×2 in between, leaving enough space at the top for the rod to drop in.

.

.

.

.

.

.

IMG_1387In this picture you can see where I used 4 screws to attach the 6 foot upright to the 24 inch piece of 2×2.  I did that on both sides, altering my spacing slightly so the screws didn’t run into each other in the middle.

.

After this I added the feet using a spare piece of 2×2 for spacing while attaching the feet to the uprights.

.

.

.

IMG_1382 - Copy

After putting each side together I realized I needed a crossbar across the bottom to keep the uprights from doing their Bambi on ice impression.  I had a piece of 1×2 in the garage.  I used my jigaw to cut it down to the right width.

The width of the rod, 48 inches plus the width of the 2×2 outer foot on both sides which is 1.5 inches.  48 inches + 3 inches = 51 inches.

.

.

IMG_1386

After I attached the bottom cross bar, I popped the rod into the space on top of the uprights.  I drill a pilot hole and then drilled in a screw to fasten the top 2×2.

.

.

.

.

.

IMG_1383

Here is the final product.  It is really sturdy and the double feet are working it to keep it from rocking  My driveway was the only place I could take a picture.  I will try to take one with the costumes on it once I get the garage straightened up again.

Leave a Reply

