Perfect timing…

I got my new washer and dryer today.  I am so excited, which probably sounds a little looney, but I got to actually pick out what I wanted.  Not what was cheapest, not what would be practical, but the set that I actually wanted.   I will be eternally grateful to Sully’s mom for such a generous and thoughtful gift.  She suggested it a few weeks ago but with my brother in law in the hospital recovering from a stroke we had put off our shopping trip.  Last Friday, we decided to just get it done.  (My brother in law is still in the neurological ICU but he is stable we are waiting and hoping for him to heal and come back to us.)  It was a nice surprise, going shopping on Friday.  It turned out to be the perfect week to have them delivered.  Boo and I started our Christmas break this week so I had some extra time.  We just have Christmas crafts and general housekeeping stuff to do this week.  I had plenty of time yesterday to work on crafts and clear out the laundry area.  Definitely perfect timing, I am ready for a great week.

This is the set that I got…

samsung wd set

It was delivered this afternoon and it looks great.

I spent most of yesterday moving stuff out of the laundry area, which is just a 6 foot by 3 foot closet, give or take a few inches.  I had some shelves on the back of the unit that held my detergent and other cleaning items as well as a rolling cart that slid in between the washer and dryer.  After cleaning everything else out I started moving the old washer and dryer.  My old set works great and I actually feel bad for replacing them they work so well.  I am planning on donating the set so that someone that needs it can make use of it.  The dryer was easy, unplug, disconnect the vent hose and wheel it away.  The washer was a bit more complicated as I couldn’t get the cold water to turn off.  I ended up leaving it in the closet for the delivery people to deal with.

I was glad that I got the dryer out though so that I could clean the floor, there was a mat of lint that matched the footprint of the dryer exactly.  I had to use a scraper to get it all up, swept and mopped twice.  Moving the dryer and mucking around with the washer also helped me figure out that the new set wasn’t going to fit like the other set did.  The depth of the closet is 32 inches, the new set is 31.125 inches deep, I didn’t even think about the hookups in the back.  Oy…  Well, at least there is a finished doorway that adds another five inches to the depth of the closet.  Of course, that means that the ugly bifold doors had to come off.  I wasn’t exactly upset about that but now it would be an open space and that I might be upset about.

Here’s my poorly lit pic of the new set in my little laundry area.  You can see on the sides how the closet cuts back out a bit on each side. 

washer and dryer

I am looking at ideas for covering the area or at least dressing it up.  I will keep you posted.  The dryer is singing a little tune to me now.  That load must be dry.

Leave a Reply

