Re-purposed…

Ribbon ladder from Joann’s.

Last weekend, we ran some errands and during a quick run into Joann’s, I found this ribbon ladder.  At it’s normal price of $29.99, I would look at it and think that’s a nice ribbon organizer and move on.  It’s clearanced right now for more than 50% off.  So, I grabbed one of the last ones.

Currently, my ribbon is split up between one of the stacking ribbon boxes (2nd picture) and a larger plastic bin.  It will be nice to have all of the ribbon in one place and I will be able to see the colors that I have before I run up to Joann’s for more.

.

.

Stacking Ribbon Box

Stacking Ribbon Box from The Container Store.

I like these stacking ribbon boxes but I only have one.  I originally planned on getting more but changed my mind.  The lid ended up breaking soon after I got it and I didn’t really like the stacking part of it.  I mean it’s cool that it stacks but I am not a fan of having to move a bunch of things to get to something else.   This morning I pulled all of the ribbon out of it to load up my new ribbon ladder.  I kept looking at the box and wondering how I could use it, if there was another purpose for it.

.

 

Here is what I came up with…

IMG_1491

It was the perfect size for my Behr color fan deck.

I had to do some modifications though first.  Both the bottom and the lid had a permanent divider in the middle.  I used utility scissors and a pair of wire cutters to trim off the pieces from the dividers.  

IMG_1497

.

When I was done I sanded down the area that I had just trimmed.  I lined the bottom with white card stock using glue dots to secure the cardstock to the sides.  

.

.

IMG_1496

I ran a piece of duct tape along the back to secure the lid to the container.  (I am not sure why I didn’t think of that before when I had ribbon in it but there you go…).

The lid now opens and closes very nicely.  No falling off and no wobbling.

IMG_1493

The color fan deck fits in either way, top up or sideways.  I might put a lining inside the lid or cover the lid at some point, but right now I am pretty happy with it.  I wanted something to put the color fan deck in and this was the perfect size.  I am so glad that I took the risk of cutting out the middle dividers.

 
Phase 1: Day 3…
.

I took my walk alone today while Boo did her Dance Central workout.  I walked a small loop very close to the house.   I walked more than 11 minutes at a pretty good pace.

My upper body workout went well.  A couple of days off (Sunday and Monday) were really nice.  I am able to do two sets of 15 repetitions, only feeling fatigued during the last few reps of the second set.

Water – ~36 ounces  (I really need to be better about drinking water).

Overall, I am feeling a lot better and I really feel like this is the year that things will be different.

Leave a Reply

