Sleep…

Apparently, this extra activity and less caffeine is causing me to need more sleep.  I went to bed last night before midnight, it was the first time in probably more than two months.   I got up around 7:30 to walk Sully to the door on his way out to the office.  I fed the dog and let him outside and I went back to sleep.  I didn’t wake up until nearly 9:30.    So, I slept for nearly 9.5 hours give or take fifteen minutes or so.  I am usually good with about 7 hours of sleep and occasionally sleeping in on a Saturday or Sunday.

In the last month though, I have cut down on my caffeine intake considerably and I have started to exercise daily.  I get sleepy throughout the day and my guess is that my body is still adapting to the reduced amount of caffeine in my system.  On a bad day I might have had over 150mg of caffeine a day, maybe more if I ate something that had caffeine in it like chocolate.  That figure isn’t really all that high, a heavy intake of caffeine is thought to be at 500 to 600mg a day, that converts to about four to seven cups of coffee.**  Coffee upsets my stomach, thinking about drinking that much coffee makes me nauseous.  Anyhow, my caffeine intake, on a bad day I hovered around 150mg, most days I was probably closer to 100mg.  Now, I am at about 50mg or less.

I’ve cut my caffeine by a lot, that’s a 50% – 66% decrease in about a month.  It makes sense that I am feeling some side effects from it.  I am at a pretty steady rate now of about 12 ounces a day.  I bought some 12 ounce bottles that I can drink at home and not be tempted to go to a drive-thru and get a larger size.   I’ve tried before to cut down on my soda intake, there was always something difficult going on that made it difficult to do it, to really get it done.  This time I really think I’ve made it to the other side.  I don’t feel like I need it or have to have it.  Right now it just feels like a habit.  I am looking forward to it being something to enjoy on occasion.

 

Phase 1:  Day 6…
.

I took a shorter walk today.  We were at Gramma’s and I walked a small loop in her neighborhood getting about 2/3 of my walk done.  I added on some stepping when I got home to make up the difference.

Lower body workout went well.  I am thinking about adding some exercises to my workout next week.  I also remembered to stretch.  Yay!

Water = 52 ounces

**Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/523830-can-caffeine-withdrawal-cause-you-to-be-tired/#ixzz2HmqpTsBu

Leave a Reply

