Transition…

Another week is done, Week 2 of Phase 1 went really well.  I walked over 4 miles over seven days and six walks.  I did my strength exercises Monday thru Saturday adding one new exercise to my routines.  I am quite excited that today is my day off from my exercises.  My upper body exercises were making me sore.  I have until Tuesday to recover.

I am happy to say that I am now entering Week 3.  It’s in this week where I find that I will either stick with something or I will inexplicably drop the ball.  I don’t understand it myself but it’s happened more than once.   I have started the EA Sports Active 3o Day Challenge several times.  It really only has 20 days of exercises because there are set rest days within the challenge.  I have gotten to exercise day 17 or 18 and then just stopped.  The reasons are varied but mostly it came down to the fact that I simply lost my motivation.  I’d miss a day and try to make it up and then I’d miss another day.  That day would stretch into two and then suddenly I would be completely off track.feeding the dog

This time I am not going to let that happen.  I have a plan and I am going to stick with it.  I’ve stayed on track for 14 days and I only have 7 days left.  That’s six days of walking, three days of upper body workouts and three days of lower body workouts.  I can do that, right?  When you break it down like that it doesn’t seem like that hard of a thing to do.  It doesn’t seem like it to me.  I can ignore the fact that after this week is over I fully intend to keep walking and doing my strength exercises.  Right now, all that is important is that I reach my three week goal.  That I make these activities habit, part of my daily life, as integral to my day as taking a shower or feeding the dog.  

This is the point of transition, changing these activities from ideas I want to do and have to remind myself to do into activities that I just do because they need to be done.  I don’t know why it’s so hard to convince myself to take care of me.  I’ll spend time taking care of the bunnies or other critters in the house, I would think it’d be okay to spend equal time on me.  I am ready to finish out this week and this first three week ‘phase’ strong.

Phase 1: Day 15
 
I had a good walk.  I’ve been getting pain in my shins midway through my walk.  I did some online research and it seems that power walking with long strides can cause this.  I am doing some extra stretching and my strength exercises to help my muscles adapt quicker.  In the meantime, I am going to walk a more even pace and shoot for about 12 minutes and 0.7 miles.  I did a pretty good job, I was on my last 300 yards or so when I felt my shins start to think about hurting.  I shortened my stride and was able to finish my walk without it getting out of hand.
 
No workout today but I did get an extended stretching session in before bedtime.  I was really ready for a day off from the strength exercises.
 
Water = 48 ounces –>  I seriously need to be better about drinking enough water everyday.  I am now to the point that I can tell the next day whether I had enough water the previous day.  Who knew I’d ever become one of those people.  🙂
Leave a Reply

