Dreams…

This image was posted on Facebook a week or so ago by the Disney Movie Rewards page.  I love everything about the photo, the saying, the look on Walt’s face, the black and white.  Without really thinking about it I saved the photo and went on my way.  A few days later it popped back into my head, thinking about courage.

When you really think about it, you realize how much courage it takes to get what we want in life.  Think about getting married, you meet this person and fall in love but you have no idea what it is like to be married.  Sharing a house and responsibility can be daunting and oftentimes people change when they get married.  I think a lot of the blame comes around to expectations.  If you are thinking marriage is going to be all white picket fences and birdsong you might be a little resentful when it becomes about laundry and bills.

Sully and I were lucky.  I was an observant kid and noticed my parents working through the normal issues of any married couple.  I knew going in, that marriage was a work in progress and I was happy to work at it to be with Sully.  To his credit, Sully is easy to live with, sure, we have our moments but who doesn’t.  I have friends that have had issues that almost started on the honeymoon.  Some of them are still together and a few didn’t make it past the first year.  Either way, it takes courage to jump into that abyss of the unknown.

It’s the same with having kids.  There’s no manual, every child is different.  I mean, how do you prepare for that?  You don’t, you just close your eyes and trust that you will figure it out when the time comes.  Even when things are going well you keep wondering if you are doing it right.  You don’t have to look far to see parents that are clearly dropping the ball.  Parents of kids from school, dance class, and people you just see day to day, then there’s the craziness of celebrities and their kids.  It just makes you wonder.

After all of that, we are supposed to have courage to chase our dreams too?  Yes, and I honestly understand this completely.  As much as I was meant to be married to Sully and to be Boo’s mom, I was also meant to be a writer.  Now it’s just up to me to have the courage to make it happen.  Something about that image of Walt Disney really hit me, I mean, I feel like I almost have to do it now.  How can I not?  I’ve got Walt Disney pulling for me, right?

Ok, well, I guess I need to figure out where I put my courage so I can get back to writing.

Phase 1: Day 16
 
I didn’t walk today, it’s my normal day off.  Boo has dance and the day is usually pretty crazy.  Today was a holiday and Sully isn’t feeling well.  So, no dance but still crazy.
 
I added a new exercise to my lower body workout.  It’s called the ‘Outer/Inner Thigh Kick Stretch’, which involves crossing your right leg in front of your left leg and then swinging it out to the right side, then of course, doing the same on the left side.  I think it will be really good for that tight thigh muscle.  Yikes, I sound like some old bird griping about all of my ‘conditions’.  I just need to stretch more and more often.
 
Water = 56 ounces
Leave a Reply

