Pieces…

I spent most of the day doing things in pieces.    As soon as I woke up, I got dressed and went out to the garage to add a second coat of paint to the counter top piece of MDF.  I knew we had to run errands and figured the paint could dry while we were out and about.  I knew that I needed to work on putting in the shelves and counter before the Super Bowl started.

Most of the afternoon was spent putting in the support boards for the shelves and counter.   It took a lot longer than I had planned, granted I had a lot to do and a few interruptions.  I brought the counter in about twenty minutes before the game started but soon found out that it wouldn’t slide in.  I had to remove the lower shelf first, which was the original shelf.  I was afraid that the builders had used 500 nails to attach it to the support boards.  Those guys get trigger happy with the nail gun.  I was in luck though there were only a few nails that I had to hammer out.

Sully ended up having to help me with the counter.  I had to do a special cutout to make room for the actual switches for the lights.  I still can’t believe that I missed that, it didn’t even occur to me that they would cause an issue with installing the counter piece.  Of course, I was hoping that I would be able to tip the counter piece in without messing with the middle shelf.  Live and learn, right?

Here’s a before pic…

washer and dryer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After…

Here is what it looks like with the bins and baskets that I bought after Christmas.  Those are on the counter and the lowest shelf.  The plastic bins at the top of the picture will be covered at a later date.

IMG_1563

                         IMG_1561

IMG_1562

The baskets and bins are completely empty at this point.  I was just excited to see how they looked in this new space.  There’s still a fair amount of work to do until I can call it done but I am really happy that I have gotten to this point.  The counter was such a pain to get in and it scratched up the walls a fair amount.  So, in addition to organizing everything I will have to do a bit of touch up painting and I really would like to add some curtains to cover the upper shelves.

Overall, the basic setup has been fun.  I really can’t wait to see what it looks like with curtains and some decorations.  Yay!

Phase 2: Day 8

I spent the day working in the laundry area, up and down the ladder and laying across the washer and dryer using the drill in all sorts of crazy positions.  I am worn out and there was no walk.

My morning and night routines are going well.  I suppose I should try to get to sleep earlier in the night.  I will have to work on that.

Leave a Reply

