Simple…

Sometimes the best solution is the simplest.  

I’ve spent a fair amount of time trying to find bins with straight vertical sides to go up on the top shelf of my laundry area.*  I hung a curtain but the bins on the top shelf stick out beyond the shelf.  This causes the curtain to stick out in front of the shelves.  It looks weird and it casts an odd shadow on the counter below.   I’ve looked online.  I’ve visited stores.  I’ve gone back to looking online but this time looking for instructions on how to make my own bins.  

Finally, tonight I had a stroke of genius.  I remembered that the wire cube shelves are straight.  We have the wire grids all over the house. We have some in the pantry, Boo’s closet, the bunny condo in the great room and storage in the garage.  After some online chatting with Faith, I had it all figured out.  

IMG_1624

In this photo you can see the zip tie used to secure the two grids together.  I used wire clips to attach the grids to the shelf.  I tipped the grids against the back wall while I hammered in the clips.  Luckily, I had both the zip ties and the wire clips in the garage already.

.

.

.

.

IMG_1615

After the clips were hammered into the shelves, I pulled the grids up straight and marked the wall.  I used a wall anchor and a screw to attach the wire grid to the wall.   I put some bags behind the grid and it was amazingly stable.  I thought I might need some ‘L’ brackets but the wire clips and the wall anchor worked really well.  

I repeated the process on the other side.   Once all of the grids were secured to the shelf and walls,  I began to unload the contents of the bins back onto the shelf.  I left the middle open for better access.   

The grids work great.  I’ve got purses and accessories on the left and backpacks and miscellaneous  bags on the right.  There’s enough room in the middle to stash something else.  I haven’t decided what yet though.  Now, I can work on the curtains, hopefully I will get a chance to work on them this weekend.

 

IMG_1618 - Copy

 

I should have taken the photos before I loaded the shelves but I wasn’t completely sure it was going to work until I’d gotten some bags loaded into it.  Honestly, after I’d gotten stuff up there, pictures for the blog wasn’t enough motivation to unload it all again.  🙂

*I call it the laundry area because I am not sure what to call it.   You can’t walk into it, so not the ‘laundry room’.  It has no doors so ‘laundry closet’ doesn’t work either.  Ugh…laundry area.

Phase 2:  Day 20

Not really much to report, I didn’t walk and I didn’t do my lower body exercises because I knew I would be up and down the ladder a bunch while working on the shelves in the laundry area.

The morning and nighttime routine is still going great.

Believe me I realize these daily updates are seriously boring but they keep me honest.

Leave a Reply

