Makeover…

The backstory…

Vinyl curtain

Several years ago, Sully and I bought this shower curtain.  We had slowly started to decorate our master bathroom for Christmas.  We’d gotten some snowman towels and a few other items as gifts the previous year.  I saw this ‘Let it Snow’ set in an ad, either Bed, Bath and Beyond or Linens and Things before they shut down their stores.  I really liked how it looked with the curtain and the towels, cute and fun without being  juvenile.  Of course, it helped that it was mostly blue and snowflakes are cool.

Years ago, I had no idea that I would eventually change the decor in the bathroom for each season.  One of the reasons that I liked the ‘Let it Snow’ set was because it was more Winter themed than Christmas.  The rest of the house is red and green and the bathroom is all blue and white.  I really enjoy it and because it is a winter bathroom I can keep it in there for an extra month or two.

.

.

.

curtain hook set

The shower curtain was packaged together with the hooks.  The hooks are cute, white with sparkles.  I believe the collection originally had small and larger hand towels, bath towels, a trash can, a rug and the shower curtain and hook set that all matched.  By the time that we were looking at it the hand towels, shower curtain, trash can and rug were left.  The trash cans didn’t look great, one was cracked and the other was scratched up.  We passed on the trash can and the rug, which was white, not a good idea in our house.

In the years since, we have collected various decorations and now have a fully decorated winter bathroom.  It’s all snowmen and snowflakes in blue, silver and white.  The crazy thing is that we’ve only bought a few of the decorations.  Most of them have been gifts and a few were handmade crafts, projects for gifts and the prototype ended up in the bathroom.

.

The makeover…

  Shower curtain

IMG_1635

I bought a white fabric shower curtain at Bed Bath and Beyond.  I used clothespins to pin the vinylIMG_1637 - Copy curtain to the fabric curtain.  Then I used white thread to sew the two curtains together with a zig zag stitch along the seam between the curtain and the top.   I trimmed the top section off leaving the white ring area for the hooks.

.

 

Trim…

IMG_1665

I bought some trim to cover up the zig zag stitch and the raw edge of the vinyl curtain.  My first thought was the oversized bric a brac trim, but I was worried that the raw edge wouldn’ t be completely covered.  Boo saw this trim and thought that the poof balls looked like snowballs.  I liked the wide base of the trim and the loops in between the poofs.  I used tacky glue to attach the trim to the curtain.  I wrapped the trim around the end and kept it in place with a clothespin.                       

IMG_1662

I don’t have a picture of the new and improved curtain hanging up.  It was time to change out the winter decorations with the spring decorations.  I will try to remember to post an updated picture next December.

  Hooks…

IMG_1667

IMG_1666

The hooks needed some help too.  I should have taken a before picture but didn’t think about it.  Both the glitter and the paint was coming off of the snowflakes.

I punched some holes in the side of this box, stuck the hooks through and used painter’s tape to hold them straight.

First, I painted them white.  After the second coat of white paint dried, I decided to re-apply the glitter.  I painted the snowflakes with white craft glue and then dipped them in glitter.  I taped each snowflake back on the box and let it dry overnight.  They look good as new, actually better than new.  Super sparkly is good.  

.  

 

Leave a Reply

