Do what works…

Trapped

Today we will find a second installment of writing conversation from Kevin Hearne on the subject of linear vs. non linear writing.  Kevin shares some of his experience with this issue, a few of Kevin’s writer friends also chime in.

Writing Encouragement No. 2

In writing, the shortest distance to the end is not always a straight line.

Click here to get the full post on Storify.com

Check out Kevin’s website to learn more about Kevin and his awesome books.  

Here are my unpublished and inexperienced two cents…

I’ve finished two of my NaNo novels.  The first one I wrote skipping around and sort of stitching things together.  The second one I wrote in a more linear way and I am finding the rewrites on this on to be much more difficult than the first.  I think the problem may lie with each scene and chapter being so connected to the next.  There isn’t enough of a separation to allow me to wedge my red pen and delete button.  I think it will take me some time to really get a handle on this story and get it rewritten the way it needs to be.

One thought on “Do what works…

  1. Pingback: Slogging through… | Literally Blue

Leave a Reply

