Fix it Friday… Leaky toilet

rosie_riveter

For the past month or so, the toilet in the master bathroom has been ‘running’ almost constantly.  It started off quietly with only a little bit of water leaking into the bowl but over time it had become a pretty consistent stream.  The constant bubbling noise was getting on my nerves but knowing how much water we were wasting was even worse.

The last several weeks I adjusted everything that could be adjusted, over and over and in any combination that was possible.  Nothing seemed to help, last week while I was again trying to figure out what was going on I noticed bubbles coming up from the bottom of the water inlet valve.  I looked around online for some information on how to fix a possible leak in the water inlet valve and found this tutorial from Let’s Fix It with Dan Jiles 

I went to Home Depot today and bought a new Fluidmaster Universal Fill Valve for less than $8.  I got some additional tips from Al at the HD near Gramma’s house.  Once I got home, I followed the directions from the tutorial and had everything fixed in less than 20 minutes.  It would have been less than 10 minutes but the nut on the old fill valve was being difficult.  Sully had to come in to hold the top of the valve so I could muscle the nut in the tight space between the toilet and the sink cabinet.

It’s all fixed, no more bubbling sounds and more importantly, no more water being wasted.  Yay!!!

Leave a Reply

