Pattern of addiction…

A few weeks ago I mentioned that Joann’s had a big sale on patterns.  First it was McCalls and then Butterick.  The Simplicity patterns will be on sale later this week.  I bought a bunch of the McCalls and Butterick patterns, the limit was ten and I am sure I came close to that on both occasions.  It’s a little addicting.  The costume patterns are the worst for me, as many as I have there’s always some other pattern that I need to buy.  I always wait for the sales, at $1 each I can’t complain or feel guilty about it.

This is one of my favorite patterns, it was the primary pattern used for my wedding.  Simplicity #8735

wedding 8735

This year, I have been able to use a few patterns that I already had to make different pieces for our Halloween costumes.  I’ve done my best to raid all of my various stashes for fabric, trim and miscellaneous notions.   So far I’ve only had to buy a few things and I’ve gotten all of those things on sale, clearanced or with a coupon.

I’ll have to look at the Simplicity website and see if there are any patterns that I absolutely need, or let’s be honest, any patterns that I really, really want.  In the meantime…

 

Here are a few of the patterns that I picked up a few weeks ago…

(I tried to add captions but it caused the pictures to go all scatterwhoppy, or even cattywhompus, depending on which you prefer.)

#1- I love the sleeves on this dress, at some point I will have to make this either for Halloween or the Ren Faire. (B4571)

#2 – I grabbed this pattern to make Sully’s pirate costume.  I originally got it for the pants but was surprised to find when I got home that I liked the vest too.  I am hoping to see Sully’s costume to be more like the all black inset pic.  (B4574)

#3 – I am going to try to make boot covers with this pattern.  Since we will be walking a fair amount I want to make covers that we can attach over our comfy cross trainer/walking shoes.  (B5233)

B4571    B4574   B5233

#4  I originally planned on making one of these bags…  (B5936)

#5 – …until I found this  pattern.  I really like the bag on the middle left.  (B5371)

B5936

B5371

Leave a Reply

