Getting on track…

I haven’t posted in about three weeks, between the normal craziness, some involved homeschool projects, the Olympics and most recently, horrid allergies, I have been barely been able to keep up enough to get dinner on the table, but I am getting back on track now.

I’ve actually put some effort into my writing, I spent some time and created a new outline that I like a lot better.  The beginning is much clearer and I think the whole story is going to be lighter.  When I originally wrote the story I was still dealing with losing some family members.  I took it out on my poor characters and it was dragging down the entire story.  My new outline only covers the beginning few chapters.  I plan on rethinking the rest of the chapters depending on where things go, especially since I’ve changed my POV from first to third.  I don’t want to get too far ahead of my characters and any new things that might pop up as things get moving.

I’ve spoken with Sully and we are going to sit down this weekend to figure out a schedule for me to have some uninterrupted time for writing.  I am hoping to write 2,000 words a day, maybe a bit more on the weekends.  It will just be interesting to see where I can carve out time around the usual mom stuff and homeschooling.  I plan on being as disciplined as possible at sticking to the schedule.  I really felt like this was going to be the year that I got serious about writing but so far this year has been the same, very disappointing.  I am feeling overwhelmed with everything that needs to be done and my writing has taken a back seat.  The only thing I can do at this point is just try to refocus.

And with that I can share that I started rewriting the first chapter last night and got the first scene set up and wrote 1,000 words. If I can get 2,000 words a day, good words, not crappy get me to my work count words then I can use Camp NaNo in April to hopefully finish the rewrites.  Then in May I’ll have to drum up some courage and actually let someone read it, alcohol might be necessary.

So wish me luck everyone, this might get ugly…

Leave a Reply

