Enough already…

AZ dry heatOy, I’ve had enough of this year already.  It’s been stressful since it started and seriously, I am ready for a break.

It’s not uncommon for me to be yearning for a break in the summer.  I know that I have mentioned this but in past summers I have suffered from Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD).  Usually people have issues with SAD during long winters and while it’s rare in the summer it can happen.  Summers in Arizona can be rough, May and June aren’t too bad with temperatures under 110° but usually averaging more around 105°.  July and August though usually are much warmer with temperatures averaging around 115° which means we often have days that reach 118° and the overnight lows barely dip below 95°.  High temperatures like that make it hard to get things done, any errands need to be done early in the morning or in the evening, forget about exercising.  After a while it’s easy to start feeling trapped inside all day and most summers I end up feeling restless and a bit depressed.  It doesn’t help that with the higher temperatures comes the monsoons and humidity.

As I said in the beginning, this year has been stressful, we’ve had one major issue and a slew of minor issues that just won’t quit.  For the most part, I have been plugging away, keeping everyone else happy and trying to catch up with all of the everyday stuff that keeps getting pushed aside for the crazy and the crises.  The last few summers I have been able to combat a lot of the SAD symptoms by looking forward to our summer vacation in early August.  By the time the higher temperatures hit in mid July, I am in full preparation mode for our trip.  Thoughts of cooler temperatures and relaxing on the beach were enough to get me through.  This year though there was no vacation planned, new job and the other crazy stuff ruled it out early.

This summer has been mild, for which I am eternally grateful, we’ve only had a few days of temperatures over 110°.  By July, I hadn’t had many moments of feeling like running for the hills. Since early July I have been working on a big project updating B’s room, it’s kept me busy, both creatively and physically.  I had to do some of the work outside, in the sun and it was not fun.  The updating is going well but about two weeks ago I started feeling a little run down.  By last weekend, I was feeling restless and kind of down, my summer blues had rolled in. Blah.  I didn’t say much to anyone, I just kept going with the project.  I was hoping denial and avoidance would make me feel better.  It’s not a perfect solution but better than dwelling on it all.

Imagine my surprise when Sully suggested he take a Monday off and we take a short trip.  He suggested visiting Northern Arizona and I countered with San Diego.  When it comes to planning vacations I am a money saving ninja, I do tons of research and usually book hotels months ahead of time.  Both Northern Arizona and San Diego are big vacation spots during the summer and prices will be sky high with such little notice.  I suggested San Diego because my brother lives there, in a big house with kids away at college.  We normally hang out at his house several day/nights anyway and on a short 3-day trip staying there is a great option.  After a few random conversations I suggested that instead of taking a Monday off, the Friday before Labor Day would be even better.  We’d get an extra day which means more time to relax.

2008_0726SanDiego080230

By noon last Friday, I had booked space at my brother’s house and Sully had been approved for the day off.  I am still struggling with feeling restless but hopefully I’ll be to counteract it with being busy finishing B’s room and preparing for the trip.  I am also going to keep checking the forecast for San Diego’s weather.  In fact, tomorrow the high here will be 102° and in San Diego the high temperature will be …  77°  Booyah!!!  I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

