132 days…

Cat computerSo, my computer crashed last week.  Luckily, I was able to do a refresh instead of a full reset.  With the refresh my files were saved but I lost all of my emails and all of my programs.  It took me two days just to get into email, then several days of updating and program loading.  Last night, I finally got my writing program loaded and was able to open my most recent work-in-progress.  I also recovered my email files which ended up being a happy accident.  The whole incident was a wake up call, believe me I’ll be setting up a monthly schedule for backing up my computer.

Clearly I didn’t get much writing done during all of that.  I’ll have to do some backing up with my writing too.  I lost a week and I’ll have to go back to read over everything and get back into where I was with the story.  This week, I am hoping to get my read through done and then back to writing every day.  One good thing is that while waiting in line for my car to be emission tested I was able to work out a few plot points that had been a bit tangled.

Sometimes it feels like there have been so many setbacks and obstacles recently with my writing.  I started this year saying that 2014 was going to be my year.  I was going to get my work in progress rewritten, out to beta readers and maybe even take a shot at self publishing.  It’s been a tough year, and there’s only four months left in 2014, it would be smarter to just do what I can now and regroup for 2015.  Right now I am not feeling all that smart.  I am feeling stubborn and a little mad.  I had a plan for this year and I’ll be damned if I am going to let all of these little crappy things that keep happening stand in the way.

Come hell or high water, I am going get my rewrites done and get it to my beta readers.  I am going to write that novella too.  I’ve got 132 days left in 2014.  132 days, I can do this.  It’s not world domination but it’s a start.

2 thoughts on “132 days…

  1. Unfortunately, that kind of starting and stopping is the norm in the early stages of a writing career. I think once writers are at it for a while, we learn to “play hurt,” which is writing even when the conditions for doing so aren’t optimal– like when athletes play through colds and injuries and the like. No, I am not there yet. I think it’s important for us to remember to go easy on ourselves. I don’t care what anybody says, guilt and regret are not motivators to creativity. The other thing that’s important — stop me if you’ve heard it — is to do the work. Even if it’s a few minutes or just a few words, get back in the manuscript and do the work. All the vibes, Babe.

  2. yay, you, for feeling stubborn and sticking to it. Sometimes having less time = getting more done. And that idea of “there’s only four months left I might as well just wait till next year” is sort of like blowing your diet, anyway– since I blew my diet at lunch, I might as well just go ahead and blow the whole day. Very self-defeating. Just don’t let yourself quit. (now I need to say that to myself.)

Leave a Reply

